G. DaPonte has spent time playing with loads of L.A. musicians, engineering a variety of recording projects, setting up several indie labels and programming radio. In 2007 he finished an eight-year stint hosting the eclectic weekly radio show “Night Song” on KCRW, Los Angeles’ premier public radio outlet. DaPonte released the solo CD Let It All Come Down in 2008. Songs from the album were featured on ABC TV and HBO.

G. DaPonte’s latest 14-song release, Lucky Days and Lucky Numbers, features contributions from intriguing players including Taras Prodaniuk (Lucinda Williams, Richard Thompson), Danny McGough (Social Distortion, Tom Waits), Eric Heywood (The Pretenders, Ray LaMontagne, Son Volt), Tony Gilkyson (X, T-Bone Burnett), Chris Lawrence (Mike Ness), Doug Pettibone (Lucinda Williams, Ray LaMontagne), Charlie Peterson on steel guitars & vibraphone, and guest vocals from Claire Holley and Syd Straw.

The lead off track of Lucky Days and Lucky Numbers, “Nowhere”, was selected for use in season 4 of HBO’s series True Blood. Stylistically, the album follows where 2008’s Let It All Come Down left off. DaPonte’s Influences range from retro Rolling Stones, Faces & Crazy Horse era Neil Young to more modern semi-alternative types like My Morning Jacket, The Hold Steady, Daniel Lanois, Band of Horses and Wilco. “I listen to such a wide range of music, it’s not always clear what’s seeping into the mix and that tends to keep things interesting.” The album contains ten DaPonte originals along with interpretations of songs from, Low, Gillian Welch, the Philadelphia band Marah, and 70’s Irish rockers Thin Lizzy.

G. DaPonte and his band will be playing select dates in support of this new release.

All designs, content, music and images © G. DaPonte 2012.